New Years Eve

Happy New Year 2014 Funny cards (5)

“Good resolutions are simply checks that people draw on a bank where they have no account”. – Oscar Wilde

As I have already said I AM NOT making any New Year Resolutions (because old habits “do die hard”). However I do have many ASPIRATIONS.

800px-Janus1vm - Copy copy

The day after New Year’s Eve is the first day of the month called January and January is named after Janus (from the Latin word for door (ianua) he is known as the god of the doorway and of beginnings and transitions. He is usually depicted as having two faces; he looks both to the future and the past. I remember been full of wonder when I was told this in school when I was a young. But I grow up and like everybody else you leave behind that sense of wonder and magic and January just became a label-of-sorts for the first month of the year.

It was Rachel Carson who said that if she could grant a wish like the fairy godmother to a child it would be,-

that every child would retain a sense of wonder so indestructible that
it would last throughout life, as an unfailing antidote against the boredom and
disenchantments of later years, the sterile preoccupation with things
artificial, the alienation from the sources of our strength.”

IMG_0590 - Copy

There are two New Moons in January this year; the first is on the 1st January 2014 at 11.15 GMT and the second 30th January 2014 at 21.41 GMT. Now that is auspicious, “two new moons a rising” in the first month of a new year. So I am going to go through Janus’s doorway by the light of a New Moon not with an already written Bucket List in hand but with an Aspiration Note Book in which I will note what I do achieve this coming New Year.

 Now here is my number one aspiration, it is really by Dr Steve Maraboli, but I am taking for myself this year. – I want to live my life in such a way that when I get out of bed in the morning, the devil says, “aw shit, she’s up!”

Leave a Reply

