Monday Moment Wild Cherry

wild cherry

fruit of Wild Cherry – Prunus avium – Crann silíní fiáin

I have four Wild Cherry trees in and around my garden, two I planted and two the birds have planted for me. The birds let me have the trees but the fruit they get before me, especially the Blackbirds. In fact I believe the mother Blackbird plans her babies fledge, when the cherries are ripe. However I found one this morning on my stone table, I like to think that they took pity on me and left one for me to taste. You can see the beak mark on it – but I did eat it… “and it was delicious!”

Every year the Japanese Meteorological Agency and the public track the Sakura Zensen (cherry blossom front) as it moves northwards with the approach of warmer weather via nightly forecasts. They turn out in large numbers at parks, shrines and temples with family and friends to picnic under a blooming sakura tree and celebrate the beauty of the cheery blossom. It is called the “Hanami” festival and is a centuries old practice in Japan. What a wonderful tradition we should take it up here in Ireland – what a way to relax and enjoy nature.

“Sakura” is a traditional Japanese folk song

Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
In fields and villages
As far as you can see.
Is it a mist, or clouds?
Fragrant in the morning sun.
Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
Flowers in full bloom.

Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
Across the spring sky,
As far as you can see.
Is it a mist, or clouds?
Fragrant in the air.
Come now, come now,
Let’s look, at last!

 

 

Leave a Reply

